Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Former Gators Danny Wuerffel and Emmitt Smith to represent Gators in Sugar Bowl coin toss



Former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel and Gator great Emmitt Smith will represent the Gators in Wednesday night's coin toss at the Sugar Bowl.

Tom Jackson and former boxing great Muhammad Ali will represent Louisville, and the four will join the current team captains on the field for the opening toss. 

Smith, a native of Pensacola, rewrote the record books in his three seasons at Florida. He broke the school’s 40-year old single-game rushing record in his first full game (224 yards) and went on to break the 1,000-yard mark in the seventh game of his freshman season, the fastest any running back had ever broken that barrier. As a junior, Smith was a unanimous first-team All-American, the SEC Player of the Year and a first-team All-SEC selection (for the third time). Smith was selected in the first round of the 1990 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys and played 14 seasons, setting the NFL record for career rushing yards with 18,355. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2010.

Wuerrfel won the 1996 Heisman Trophy and led Florida to a 52-20 victory over Florida State in the 1997 Sugar Bowl, earning the Gators their first national championship. That victory was part of a career which included four SEC titles. He threw for over 10,000 yards and an SEC-record 114 touchdown passes. Wuerrfel is one of just two Heisman Trophy winners to also win the Draddy Trophy, which is presented annually by the National Football Foundation to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete. After retiring from the NFL, Wuerrfel became very involved with non-profit organizations engaged in Christian mission and charitable work, including the Desire Street Ministries, which focuses on one of the most disadvantaged areas in New Orleans.

The Sugar Bowl between Florida and Louisville will be televised live on ESPN at 8:30 p.m.



[Last modified: Tuesday, January 1, 2013 11:25am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours