Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Four Gators named to various collegiate Award Watch Lists



Four UF players have been named to the Maxwell, Bednarik and Ray Guy Watch Lists for the 2010 season.

Florida QB John Brantley and  RB Jeff Demps are among the players named to the Maxwell list, the award which is given annually since 1937 to the nation's outstanding collegiate football player.

Brantley, who will be a first-time starter for the Gators this season, finished the 2009 season 36-for-48 for 410 yards, threw seven touchdowns with zero interceptions and tallied 67 rushing yards on 13 carries. Demps has seen action in 20 games, with 17 starts, rushing for 1,350 yards on 177 carries and 14 touchdowns on the
ground. In 2009, he accumulated 745 yards rushing on 99 carries and had 193 yards receiving on 23 receptions.

Senior S Ahmad Black is among the players to watch for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given since 1995 in honor of the former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagles star player. Black has appeared in 35 games with 26 starts and recorded 136 total tackles, including 69 solo, with eight interceptions.

And senior kicker Chas Henry on Wednesday was named to the Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List, given to the nation's best punter who also displays team leadership, self-discipline and positive impact on the team's success. Henry was one of there finalists for the award last season. He has appeared in 41 games over the last three seasons, averaging 42.1 yards per punt with nearly half of his punts ending up inside the opponents’ 20-yard line. He allowed only five punt returns the entire season, the fewest in the nation, and gave up only 21 punt return yards, the second-best total in the nation in 2009.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced on Nov. 8, and three finalists for each award will be announced
Nov. 22nd. The winners will be announced on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards
Show which will be held on December 9, 2010.

[Last modified: Wednesday, August 11, 2010 4:44pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours