Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Four Gators Named to Watch Lists



Three Florida players were named to the Maxwell Watch List, announced on Monday, while another was listed among the preseason candidates for the Chuck Bednarik Award.

Junior running back Percy Harvin, sophomore running back Emmanuel Moody, and reigning Maxwell Award winner, quarterback Tim Tebow, were all named to the Maxwell Award List. Junior linebacker Brandon Spikes was named to the Bednarik list.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagles great.

Tebow became the first sophomore to win the Maxwell Award last season. Harvin is making a repeat appearance on the watch list in 2008 after being among the names last season.

Each list is comprised of sixty-five players who were selected based on their performance during the 2007 season.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:28pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours