Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Gator tennis player Lauren Embree named SEC Player of the Year



Florida junior Lauren Embreee has been named the SEC's Player of the Year in tennis, joining five other Gator teammates earning Coaches All-SEC honors. Three Gator men's players were also All-SEC honorees.

Embree becomes just the second player in the 20-year history of the award to receive the SEC’s top individual honor twice in a career, joining Gator great Jill Craybas, who was honored in 1995 and 1996. Embree also was voted the SEC Player of the Year in 2010, when she became the first ever freshman to earn the award.

A Gator has been named the SEC Women’s Tennis Player of the Year eight times, beginning with Lisa Raymond earning the honor in 1993, the debut of the award. In addition to Embree, Raymond and Craybas, Jessica Lehnhoff received the Player of the Year recognition in 2002, Alexis Gordon in 2004 and current Gator junior Allie Will in 2011.

Embree went 10-0 in SEC singles play and 18-2 overall. She and senior Joanna Mather, who was voted to the 2012 All-SEC First Team, have been dominate in doubles, going 20-0 in dual matches with a perfect 11-0 SEC record.

Allie Will was named First Team All-SEC for a third consecutive year, while Mather earned a spot on the league’s first team for the second time in her career, and the first time since her freshman season. Sophomore Sofie Oyen also was voted a First Team All-SEC performer for the second straight year.

Alexandra Cercone and Caroline Hitimana both were recognized to the All-SEC Second Team, marking Cercone’s second consecutive time making the list and the first ever SEC honor for Hitimana, a junior.

On the men's side, Tripper Carleton, Nassim Slilam and Bob van Overbeek were all named to the All-SEC Second Team.

[Last modified: Thursday, April 26, 2012 11:36am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours