Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Gators' Mike Zunino named to Johnny Bench Award List



Florida junior Mike Zunino is one of 43 catchers named to the Watch List for the 2012 Johnny Bench Award, given annually to the top Division I catcher.

The 2011 SEC Player of the Year, Zunino leads the top-ranked Gators in several offensive categories: batting average (.465), slugging percentage (.930), on-base percentage (.520), RBI (15), runs (14) and doubles (five). His five homers match senior Preston Tucker (Tampa, Fla.) for the most on the club and his six walks equal freshmen Taylor Gushue (Boca Raton, Fla.) and Casey Turgeon (Palm Harbor, Fla.) for the team lead entering tonight’s game gainst Florida A&M.

The full Johnny Bench Watch List here:

Milan Adams, Rhode Island; Will Allen, Mississippi; Bo Altobelli, Texas Tech University; Jimmy Best, George Washington University; Garrett Custons, United States Air Force Academy; Toby DeMello, Saint Mary's College; Jeremy Dowdy, Appalachian State University; Josh Elander,  Texas Christian University; Carlos Escobar, Nevada; Jacob Fisher, Southeastern Louisiana University; Zachary Fisher, New Mexico State; Chris Forsten, College of William and Mary; Brett Frantini, Northern Illinois University; Richard Gonzalez, Alabama State University; John Hale, Sam Houston State; Jonathan Harris, Gardner-Webb University; Chris Hoo, Cal Poly; Joe Hudson, Notre Dame; Tyler Jones, Long Island University;
Spencer Kieboom, Clemson University; Dan Klein, Kansas State; Thor Meeks, Marshall University; Brad Moss, Samford University; Tom Murphy,  Buffalo; Peter O'Brien, Miami; Joe Pavone, Connecticut; Colton Plaia, Loyola Marymount University; Kevin Plaweck, Purdue; David Roney, Wofford College; Tyler Ross, LSU; Jake Saylor, Cincinnati; Jeremy Schaffer, Tulane University; Ron Shaeffer, UC Irvine; Dan Sheppard, Iowa; Jacob Stallings, North Carolina; Andrew Stumph, Texas State University; Alex Swim, Elon University; Steve Tkowski, College of the Holy Cross;
Luke Voit, Missouri State; J.T. Watkins, United States Military Academy (Army); Matt Wollenzin, Austin Peay; Zach Wright, East Carolina; 
Mike Zunino, Florida.



[Last modified: Wednesday, March 7, 2012 8:18pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours