Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Gators' running back Jeff Demps is Doak Walker Award candidate



Senior RB Jeff Demps is among 51 Doak Walker Award preseason candidates, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today.

The award is given annually to the nation's top running back.

The candidates include the 2010 Doak Walker Award recipient, LaMichael James from Oregon, who led the nation in rushing and scoring last season.

Demps had a team-high 551 rushing yards on a team-best 92 carries (team-high 50.1 yards per game) last season.  He also had a team-high 927 all-purpose yards, including 18 receptions for 116 yards (6.4 average).

He suffered a sprained left foot in the third game of the season against Tennessee and was limited the remainder of the year. He did not play against LSU or Vanderbilt. 

Now in its 22nd year, the award is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Ten semifinalists for the Doak Walker will be announced on Nov. 11, and the recipient will be named live on ESPN on Dec. 8.

Here is the full list of candidates:

Alvester Alexander (Jr.), Wyoming
Victor Anderson (Sr.), Louisville
Keola Antolin (Sr.), Arizona
Edwin Baker (Jr.), Michigan State
Montee Ball (Jr.), Wisconsin
Vick Ballard (Sr.), Mississippi State
Bryce Beall (Sr.), Houston
Duane Bennett (Sr.), Minnesota
Brandon Bolden (Sr.), Ole Miss
Rex Burkhead (Jr.), Nebraska
Asher Clark (Sr.), Air Force
Marcus Coker (So.), Iowa
Lennon Creer (Sr.), Louisiana Tech
Orleans Darkwa (So.), Tulane
Knile Davis (Jr.), Arkansas
Jeff Demps (Sr.), Florida
JJ Di Luigi (Sr.), BYU
Lance Dunbar (Sr.), North Texas
Michael Dyer (So.), Auburn
Andre Ellington (Jr.), Clemson
Jason Ford (Sr.), Illinois
Johnathan Franklin (Jr.), UCLA
Ray Graham (Jr.), Pittsburgh
Cyrus Gray (Sr.), Texas A&M
Montel Harris (Sr.), Boston College
Ronnie Hillman (So.), San Diego State
LaMichael James (Jr.), Oregon
Marcus Lattimore (So.), South Carolina
Zach Line (Jr.), SMU
Doug Martin (Sr.), Boise State
Sam McGuffie (Jr.), Rice
Davin Meggett (Sr.), Maryland
Christine Michael (Jr.), Texas A&M
Lamar Miller (So.), Miami
Alfred Morris (Sr.), Florida Atlantic
Isaiah Pead (Sr.), Cincinnati
Chris Polk (Jr.), Washington
Tauren Poole (Sr.), Tennessee
Bobby Rainey (Sr.), Western Kentucky
Trent Richardson (Jr.), Alabama
Pat Shed (Sr.), UAB
Rodney Stewart (Sr.), Colorado
Stepfan Taylor (Jr.), Stanford
Alexander Teich (Sr.), Navy
Adonis Thomas (Sr.), Toledo
Matthew Tucker (Jr.), TCU
Robert Turbin (Jr.), Utah State
Ed Wesley (Jr.), TCU
James White (So.), Wisconsin
David Wilson (Jr.), Virginia Tech
Cierre Wood (Jr.), Notre Dame


[Last modified: Friday, July 15, 2011 11:23am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours