Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Gators' Sharrif Floyd among 15 SEC players named to Bednarik Award watch list

Florida DT Sharrif Floyd is among 15 SEC players named today to the Preseason Bednarik Award watch list. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995.

Four of last season's semifinalistsare on this year's preseason watch list: Kansas State LB Arthur Brown, LSU CB Tyrann Mathieu, Notre Dame LB Manti Te'o and Stanford LB Chase Thomas. Last year's National Championship Game participants, Alabama and LSU, have four defensive players on this year's watch list. Michigan State is the only other school with four.

Last season's winner, Mathieu, joins Penn State's Paul Posluszny and Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald as the only recipients in award history to return to school with a chance to win the award a second time.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced October 29, and the three finalists for the award will be unveiled November 19. The winner of the Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 6. The formal presentation of these award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 1, 2013.

Here are the 15 SEC players named to the Bednarik watch list:

Nico Johnson (Alabama LB);  Robert Lester (Alabama CB);  C.J. Mosley (Alabama LB);  Jesse Williams (Alabama DT); Sharrif Floyd (Florida DT); Jonathan Jenkins (Georgia DT);  Jarvis Jones (Georgia LB); Tyrann Mathieu (LSU CB); Barkevious Mingo (LSU DE);  Sam Montgomery (LSU DE);  Eric Reid (LSU S); Jonathan Banks (Mississippi State CB); Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina DE);  Devin Taylor (South Carolina DE); Sean Porter (Texas A&M LB).








The award is named in honor of former Penn and Philadelphia Eagles standout, Chuck Bednarik, who is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.


[Last modified: Monday, July 9, 2012 11:31am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours