Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Gators' Trey Burton named to Paul Hornung Award watch list



Florida all-purpose player Trey Burton is among 34 players named to the Paul Hornung Award watch list today. The award is presented annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award is given by the Louisiville Sports Commission in honor of Hornung, the Kentucky native who was the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame and NFL MVP for the Green Bay Packers.

The 2012 watch list was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2011 statistics, career performance and expectations heading into the 2012 season.

This year's list is comprised of 25 seniors, 16 juniors and eight sophomores, representing 44 universities and 10 Division IA conferences. The SEC led with the most players (12), followed by the Pac-12 with 10 players. The Big Ten and Big 12 each have six representatives. USC  has three representatives and Illinois, Mississippi State and Oregon each have two.

Burton appeared in all 13 games last season, including seven starts. He had 125 rushing yards, three rushing touchdowns on 37 carries, and 19 receptions for 149 yards and a touchdown.

Here is the complete 2012 Watch List:

Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin; Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska; Keenan Allen, California; Tavon Austin, West Virginia; Kenjon Barner, Oregon; Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State; D.J. Beshears, Kansas; Matt Brown, Temple; Chad Bumphis, Mississippi State; Trey Burton, Florida;
Adrian Bushell, Louisville; Jesse Callier, Washington; Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest; Brandon Carter, TCU; Tommy Davis, Illinois;
Quandre Diggs, Texas; Jerry "BooBoo" Gates, Bowling Green; Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State; Jordan Hall, Ohio State; Dustin Harris, Texas A&M; Terry Hawthorne, Illinois; Dennis Johnson, Arkansas; Chandler Jones, San Jose State; Perry Jones, Virginia; Tracy Lampley, Southern Mississippi; Marqise Lee, Southern California; Josh Lenz, Iowa State; Venric Mark, Northwestern; Onterio McCaleb, Auburn; Qunicy McDuffe, Central Florida; Tyrann Mathieu, LSU; Jamal Miles, Arizona State; T.J. Moe, Missouri; Ty Montgomery, Stanford; Warren Norman, Vanderbilt;
Jordan Poyer, Oregon State; Theo Riddick, Notre Dame; Nickell Robey, Southern California; Ace Sanders, South Carolina; Jeff Scott, Mississippi; Branden Smith, Georgia; Orwin Smith, Georgia Tech; Darryl Surgent, Louisiana-Lafayette; De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon; Justin Veltung, Idaho; Sammy Watkins, Clemson; Trey Watts, Tulsa; Kerwynn Williams, Utah State; Robert Woods, Southern California.



[Last modified: Thursday, August 2, 2012 9:34am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours