Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Incoming Gator Bradley Beal heading to Hollywood

Florida incoming freshman basketball player Bradley Beal will be among the dozens of celebrity athletes making their way to Hollywood next week for awards events.

Beal is among six male athletes vying for the Gatorade Male National Player of the Year Award, which will be presented on July 12. The award, which is one of the most prestigious in high school sports, is being held in conjunction with the ESPN ESPY Awards.

Beal averaged 32.4 points, 5.7 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 2.7 steals per game this past season at Chaminade College Preparatory in St. Louis. He shot 73 percent from the field while leading the Red Devils (27-1) to the Class 5 quarterfinals. He finished his prep career with 2,634 points - the fourth-highest scoring total in greater St. Louis history - and was a 2011 McDonald’s High School All-American and 2011 Jordan Brand Classic selection.

The Gatorade Male and Female Player of the Year will be announced at a dinner emceed by ESPN’s Stuart Scott. Awards will be presented by Matthew Stafford of the Detroit Lions (2005-06 Gatorade Texas Football Player of the Year), Kevin Love of the Minnesota Timberwolves (2007 Gatorade Male High School Athlete of the Year), four-time gold-medal winner Lisa Leslie (1989-90 Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year), and gold-medal winner Jessica Mendoza.

Here is a list of the nominees for Gatorade Male Player of the Year:

NAME                           SPORT                  SCHOOL

Justin Worley               Football                Northwestern High School (Rock Hill, S.C.)
Lukas Verzbicas           Cross Country      Carl Sandburg High School (Orland Park, Ill.)
Brad Beal                     Basketball            Chaminade College Prep (St. Louis, Mo.)
Luis Rendon                 Soccer                  Cosby High School (Midlothian, Va.)
Dylan Bundy                 Baseball               Owasso High School (Owasso, Okla.)
Gunnar Nixon               Track & Field         Santa Fe High School (Edmond, Okla.)

Fans can tune in to watch a live web stream of the awards ceremony at beginning at 8:30 p.m. EST.

[Last modified: Wednesday, July 6, 2011 12:42pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours