Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Janoris Jenkins, Will Hill named to Jim Thorpe Watch List



Florida junior CB Janoris Jenkins and junior S Will Hill are among 35 players named to the Jim Thorpe Watch List today, a postseason award given annually to the nation's top collegiate defensive back.

Last season Jenkins started 13 games for the Gators and had 38 tackles - 33 solo. He also had two interceptions and six pass breakups. Hill played in all 14 of the Gators' games with five starts. He had 42 tackles, 31 solo. 

The Thorpe list is determined by analysis of the pre-season All-American teams listed in at least six pre-season college football annual magazines. Four points are awarded for first team, three points for second team, two points for third and one point for honorable mentions. This procedure determines approximately 30-40 players on the pre-season watch list. Players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.

In November, the list will be narrowed to 10 or 12 candidates.  Once three finalists are selected in late November, a national panel of about 50 sports writers, sportscasters, coaches and former players will vote to determine the winner. The three finalists will be invited to the ESPN College Football Awards Show, and the winner is announced during the show.

The Thorpe Award is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as "The Legend," Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

Here are the players named to the 2010 Thorpe Watch List:

Prince Amukamara, CB, Nebraska
Mark Barron, S, Alabama
Brandon Boykin, CB, Georgia
Curtis Brown, CB, Texas
Kendric Burney, CB, North Carolina
Brandon Burton, CB, Utah
Rashad Carmichael, CB, Virginia Tech
Quinton Carter, S, Oklahoma
Chimdi Chekwa, CB, Ohio State
Don Decicco, S, Pittsburgh
Ras-I Dowling, CB, Virginia
Blake Gideon, S, Texas
Stephen Gilmore, CB, South Carolina
Brandon Harris, CB, Miami
Will Hill, S, Florida
Jermale Hines, S, Ohio State
Brandon Hogan, CB, West Virginia
Davon House, CB, New Mexico State
Duke Ihenacho, S, San Jose State
Jaiquwn Jarrett, S, Temple
Janoris Jenkins, CB, Florida
Jeron Johnson, S, Boise State
Tejay Johnson, S, TCU
Shiloh Keo, S, Idaho
Brian Lainhart, S, Kent State
DeAndre McDaniel, S, Clemson
Rahim Moore, S, UCLA
Johnny Patrick, CB, Louisville
Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU
Tyler Sash, S, Iowa
Robert Sands, S, West Virginia
Jimmy Smith, CB, Colorado
Trevin Wade, CB, Arizona
Deunta Williams, S, North Carolina
Aaron Williams, CB, Texas

[Last modified: Monday, August 2, 2010 10:35am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours