Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

LaPorta named Player of the Year

Florida senior first baseman Matt LaPorta was named SEC Baseball Player of the Year for the second time in three years, while Clearwater's Brian Leclerc, a senior outfielder, was named to the first team. The Gators had three players on the All-Freshman team: outfielder Matt den Dekker, shortstop Cole Figueroa and outfielder Jonathan Pigott.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:16pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours