Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Maurkice Pouncey among preseason players to watch

Junior center Maurkice Pouncey has been named to the 2009 Rimington Trophy spring watch list by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The trophy, named after Nebraska's two-time consensus All-America center Dave Rimington, is presented annually to college football’s most outstanding center.

Pouncey played in all 14 games last season. 

An AP honorable-mention All-SEC candidate at center, Pouncey was honored Oct. 6, 2008, as the SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week for his performance against Arkansas, where the offensive line allowed Florida to put up 278 yards rushing against the Razorbacks in Fayetteville, including 100-yard-plus rushing games from Jeff Demps and Chris Rainey.

The 2009 Rimington Trophy Watch List list includes 12 returning players from the 2008 list. In all, there are 44 players for the 2009 watch list. The SEC leads with the most candidates - six in all. The ACC, Big-12, Big Ten and WAC are represented by five players each.

Here is the rest of the list:

Eddie Adamski, Northern Illinois
Kenny Alfred,Washington State
Garrett Anderson, South Carolina
Tim Barnes,  Missouri
Carl Barnett, Houston
Colin Baxter, Arizona
Joe Bernardi, Fresno State
Ryan Blaszczyk, Rutgers
Ben Bojicic, Bowling Green
Mike Brewster, Ohio State
J.C. Brignone, Mississippi State
Ben Burkett, Northwestern
Thomas Byrd, Boise State
Ronnie Castillo. San Jose State
Eric Cook, New Mexico
Lowell Dyer, North Carolina
John Estes, Hawaii
Daverin Geralds, Mississippi
Jorge Gonzalez, Kentucky
Chris Hall, Texas
Jacob Hickman, Nebraska
Trask Iosefa, San Diego State
Ted Larsen, North Carolina State
Kevin Matthews, Texas A&M
Jim McKenzie, Syracuse
Ryan McMahon, Florida State
Colin Miller, Central Michigan
John Moffitt, Wisconsin
David Molk, Michigan
Bryan Morgan, Duke
Joel Nitchman, Michigan State
Kristofer O' Dowd, USC
Lon Roberts, Louisiana Tech
Jake Seitz, Alabama-Birmingham
Brad Serini, Florida International
Matthew Tennant, Boston College
Mark Thompson, Middle Tennessee
Bradley Vierling, Vanderbilt
Tim Walter, Colorado State
J.D. Walton, Baylor
Dan Wenger, Notre Dame

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:59pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours