Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Meyer among 10 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award



Florida coach Urban Meyer is one of 10 finlists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, National Football Foundation chairman Archie Manning announced today at a press conference in New York.

Each Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year finalist will have an opportunity to receive recognition in the permanent College Football Hall of Fame display in South Bend, Ind., $50,000 to support personal civic and charitable activities, and a $20,000 scholarship donation for his alumni association.

In all, 25 coaches in I-A, I-AA, and Division II and III were selected as finalists. One from each category will announced on ESPN during halftime of the Music City Bowl on Dec. 31.

The finalists in the I-A division are: Mack Brown, University of Texas; Brady Hoke, Ball State University; Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern University; Urban Meyer, University of Florida; Joe Paterno, Pennsylvania State University; Chris Petersen, Boise State University; Nick Saban, University of Alabama; Bob Stoops, University of Oklahoma; Jim Tressel, Ohio State University; and Kyle Whittingham, University of Utah.

Between Dec.12 and Dec. 22, college football fans can go to to cast their vote for the winner. A selection committee composed of College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches and the national media will also cast votes for the winners. Fan votes account for 20 percent of each coach's final score while the College Football Hall of Famers and national college football media account for 55 percent and 25 percent, respectively.

After this season, the total Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year charitable and scholarship contributions will reach $680,000. The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award was introduced in 2006.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:43pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours