Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Nine To Be Inducted Into Hall of Fame



GAINESVILLE - Eight former Florida athletes and the inventor of Gatorade will be inducted into the UF Athletics Hall of Fame Friday Night.

A committed of F Club members determines inductees, who are selected in three different categories: Gator Greats, Distinguished Letterwinners or Honorary Letterwinners.

The inductees are: Liston Bochette (men's track), Dr. Robert Cade (inventor of Gatorade), David Eckstein (baseball), Aycan Gokberk (volleyball), Anita Howard (track), Suzanne Jackson (golf), Ellis Johnson (football), DeLisha Milton-Jones (basketball) and Lawrence Wright (football).

The induction ceremony will be held Friday night. Due to the Major League Baseball season, Eckstein will not be in attendance.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:15pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours