Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Seven former Gators to become newest Hall of Fame members



Former Gator football players Reidel Anthony and Ike Hilliard are among seven former Florida athletes who will be inducted into the Florida Athletics Hall of Fame next April.

Also to be inducted are: Erin (Baxter) McCorkle (soccer), Mike Cotton (track and field), Tommy Kelley (football), Murriel Page (women’s basketball) and Cheryl (Morley) Pontious (women’s golf).

Longtime Florida ticket manager Bill Holloway will be inducted as an honorary letterwinner.

Each year, a committee of F Club members selects members to the Hall of Fame.They are divided into three different categories: Gator Greats,Distinguished Letterwinners and Honorary Letterwinners. Gator Greats and Distinguished Letterwinners can be nominated 10 years after they have completed their eligibility.  Honorary Letterwinners are considered after they have contributed 10 years of employment to the University of Florida, the University Athletic Association or Gator Boosters, Inc.

Anthony and Hilliard both played from 1994-96. Anthony was a member of the 1996 National Championship team and of the 1994, 1995 and 1996 SEC Championship teams. He was named a first-team All-American and All-SEC in 1996.  He was also a Biletnikoff finalist the same year.  In 1997, he was selected in the first round of the 1997 NFL Draft by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Hilliard was also a member of the 1996 National Championship team and of the 1994, 1995 and 1996 SEC Championship teams.  He earned first-team All-American and All-SEC status in 1996.  He was the first wide receiverdrafted in the 1997 NFL Draft and currently plays for Tampa Bay.

Page was a women's basketball standout from 1994-98. She earned first-team All-America honors in 1998 and was a finalist of the Naismith Player of the Year award.  She also ranks sixth all-time in the SEC in career rebounds and second in the Florida record books. She was the third pick in the 1998 WNBA Draft by the Washington Mystics and currently plays for the L.A. Sparks.

Here are bios of the other inductees:

Cheryl (Morley) Pontious – Women’s Golf, 1986-89
Pontious was a member of the 1986 National Championship team and was the 1988 SEC medalist.  She is the only four-time All-American in the program’s history.  She was also on the 1986 and 1987 SEC Championship teams and earned All-SEC status in 1987, 88 and 89.  Pontious played on the Futures Tour for two years and was inducted in the National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) Hall of Fame in 2000.  She also played two years in the U.S. Women’s Open.

Tommy Kelley – Football, 1960-62
Kelley was named to the 1960 All-SEC Sophomore team and was a Blue Key Recipient.  He was the 2006-07 F Club President and member of the UF Hall of Fame.  He is well-known as a principal engineer consultant to Ocoee, Windermere and Orange County.  He served on the Gator Boosters’board in 2005-06.

Erin (Baxter) McCorkle – Soccer, 1995-98
McCorkle was a co-captain of the 1998 National Championship team.  She earned All-American honors in 1996, 1997 and 1998.  She was also the 1998 SEC Tournament MVP.  She garnered All-SEC honors from 1996-98 and was named 1997 SEC Player of the Year.  The 1998 Tracy Caulkins award winner as UF’s top graduating female student-athlete, she also was the GTE Academic All-American of the 1998-99 academic year.

Mike Cotton – Track and Field, 1970-73
Cotton was the 1973 National Pole Vault champion, as well as the SEC champion in 1971 and 1973.  He earned All-American recognition in 1973 and he was an All-SEC selection in 1971, 1972 and 1973.  He held the UF pole vault record of 17’6” for 14 years and was a member of the 1976 USA National Team.

Bill Holloway – UAA Ticket Office
Holloway served as the Assistant Athletics Director - Ticket Operations
for the University Athletic Association for over 25 years.He was well-known and respected for his customer service efforts while he handled the many duties of the Gator Ticket Office, which included priority ticket and seating arrangements for Boosters, alumni, faculty and staff, students and the general public.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:38pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours