Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Several Gators in line for postseason awards



Tim Tebow is among 15 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's top college football player. Tebow, who is the reigning winner, is on a short list that includes Oklahoma QB Sam Bradford and Texas Tech's quarterback Graham Harrell and receiver Michael Crabtree.

Junior LB Brandon Spikes is a semifinalist for the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. Spikes leads the Florida defense this season with 59 total tackles, including six tackles for a loss of 21 yards and two interceptions, 55 interception
return yards, and one touchdown.

UF coach Urban Meyer is one of 15 semifinalists for the 20th annual George Munger Award, presented annually to the nation’s College Coach of the Year.

Redshirt senior DT Javier Estopinan, the redshirt senior defensive tackle has been named olne of 10 finalists for the Awards and Recognition Association (ARA) annual Sportsmanship Award, given to the outstanding NCAA Bowl Division collegiate football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship. 

The son of Cuban immigrants, Estopinan is a Miami native who was voted a team captain and a 2008 Leadership Committee member for Florida.Estopinan, who has suffered two ACL injuries, became the first college graduate in his family when he earned his undergraduate degree in Geography after the 2007-08 academic year. Estopinan is currently one of four Gator football players enrolled in graduate school, as he’s pursuing a master’s in Building Construction.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:40pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours