Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Several Gators to miss or see limited action in spring practice



Florida will begin spring football practice on March 16 without several players who are recovering from injuries, and several others will participate in a limited capacity.

"There are some guys that will not partake in spring because of various issues including injuries, surgeries,'' UF coach Will Muschamp said. "Janoris Jenkins obviously with his shoulder surgery, Neiron Ball has a congenital syndrome that we are currently treating and no decisions have been made on his football future, but he will not partake in spring.  Jeff Demps, obviously with the indoor track bridging right into outdoor track, and we are excited about his season. And Mike Blakely had shoulder surgery when he first reported to campus, something that was from high school, from Manatee, and we felt it was better to get it cleaned up now, as opposed to waiting through the summer.''

Armwood alum OL Matt Patchan, David Young, James Wilson, Omar Hunter, Jaye Howard, Kedric Johnson and Jaylen Watkins have all participated in offseason workouts, but have not full strength. They will be limited in spring practice. Patchan missed all of last season with a wrist injury that required multiple surgeries.

"All are guys that have been all or part of our off season program, but not been able to do everything,'' Muschamp said. "So at this point they need to work themselves in to being full speed because when they hit the field they need to be full speed for the Gators, and if they are not at that point yet they are not ready to be in the two deep. Nothing against those guys, but for whatever reason from injury standpoint they haven't been able to partake full board.''

Here is Florida's depth chart heading into spring practice:


WR (X) 85 Frankie Hammond Jr. 89 Stephen Alli OR 84 Quinton Dunbar
WR (Z) 82 Omarius Hines 4 Andre Debose
TE 11 Jordan Reed 81 A.C. Leonard
F-21 8 Trey Burton
F-12 88 Michael McFarland 87 Josh Postell
F-11 6 Deonte Th ompson 83 Solomon Patton OR 7 Robert Clark
HB 3 Chris Rainey 23 Mike Gillislee OR 33 Mack Brown
QB 12 John Brantley 10 Tyler Murphy OR 16 Jeff Driskel
LT 75 Chaz Green 64 Kyle Koehne
LG 72 Jonotthan Harrison 63 Cole Gilliam
C 50 Sam Robey 58 Nick Alajajian
RG 67 Jon Halapio 60 William Steinmann
RT 73 Xavier Nixon 77 Ian Silberman

Buck 7 Ronald Powell 34 Lerentee McCray OR 85 Lynden Trail
DT 73 Sharrif Floyd 91 Earl Okine
DT 58 Dominique Easley 68 Leon Orr
DE 96 William Green 23 Chris Martin OR 86 Clay Burton
Sam 32 Gerald Christian 25 Gideon Ajagbe
Mike 52 Jonathan Bostic 51 Michael Taylor
Will 43 Jelani Jenkins 13 Dee Finley OR 49 Darrin Kitchens
CB 36 Moses Jenkins 26 De’Ante Saunders
S 22 Matt Elam 9 Josh Shaw
S 24 Josh Evans 34 Tim Clark
CB 8 Jeremy Brown 31 Cody Riggs
Nickel 22 Matt Elam 31 Cody Riggs OR 26 De’Ante Saunders


SP 44 Kyle Christy 40 David Lerner
K 19 Caleb Sturgis 97 Brad Phillips
LS 54 Christopher Guido 46 Drew Ferris
PR 3 Chris Rainey 85 Frankie Hammond Jr. 4 Andre Debose
27 Chris Dunkley
KR 4 Andre Debose 83 Solomon Patton 7 Robert Clark
23 Mike Gillislee


[Last modified: Tuesday, March 15, 2011 11:54am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours