Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Six Gators among 51 SEC players to participate in postseason All-Star games



Six former Florida players will be among a total of 51 seniors  to participate in four postseason All-Star games during the next several weeks.

The first all-star game of the post-season is on Jan. 16 in Tucson, Ariz., at the Casino Del Sol College All-Star Game.  The SEC will have six players in that game, which is at 8 p.m. and will air on FOX Sports Net.

On Jan. 21, 12 SEC players, including former starting QB John Brantley, will participate in the East-West Shrine Game in St. Petersburg,  which is at 4 p.m. on the NFL Network. 

Also on Jan. 21, ten SEC players will participate in the Battle of Florida, which will be held in Boca Raton starting at 8 p.m. ET on FOX College Sports. Former Gators William Green, Deonte Thompson and Dan Wenger will play in that game.

The final post-season all-star game will be on Jan. 28 in Mobile, Ala. at the annual Senior Bowl.  The SEC will have 23 players in that game, including former Gators Chris Rainey and Jaye Howard. The game will be televised on the NFL Network at 4 p.m.

Here is a list of all the SEC players in postseason games:

Casino Del Sol College All-Star Game

Jan. 16 / Tucson, Ariz.

8 p.m. ET / Fox Sports Net 

Chandler Burden                 OT           Kentucky

Wayne Dorsey                      DE           Ole Miss

Broderick Green                  RB           Arkansas

Austin Johnson                     LB            Tennessee

Jarrett Lee                             QB           LSU

Anthony Mosley                   CB           Kentucky



East-West Shrine Game

Jan. 21 / St. Petersburg, Fla.

4 p.m. ET / NFL Network 

John Brantley                        QB           Florida

Greg Childs                            WR          Arkansas

Bruce Figgins                        FB            Georgia

Jerry Franklin                        LB            Arkansas

Kentrell Lockett                   DE           Ole Miss

Tauren Poole                        RB           Tennessee

Travian Robertson               DT           South Carolina

Quentin Saulsberry             OL           Mississippi State

Bradley Sowell                      OT           Ole Miss

DeAngelo Tyson                   DT           Georgia

Blair Walsh                            PK           Georgia

Jarius Wright                         WR          Arkansas



Battle of Florida

Jan. 21 / Boca Raton, Fla.

8 p.m. ET / Fox College Sports 

Enrique Davis                        RB           Ole Miss

Sean Ferguson                      DE           Mississippi State

Stephen Garcia                     QB           South Carolina

William Green                      DE           Florida

Karnell Hatcher                    LB            LSU

Greg Shaw                             OL           LSU

Taiedo Smith                         SAF         Kentucky

Deonte Thompson               WR          Florida

Ronnie Sneed                       LB            Kentucky

Dan Wenger                         OL           Florida


Senior Bowl

Jan. 28 / Mobile, Ala.

4 p.m. ET / NFL Network 

Joe Adams                             WR/RS    Arkansas

Antonio Allen                       SAF         South Carolina

Vick Ballard                           RB           Mississippi State

Mark Barron                         SAF         Alabama

Jake Bequette                       DE           Arkansas

Will Blackwell                       OG          LSU

Drew Butler                          P              Georgia

Brandon Boykin                    CB           Georgia

Josh Chapman                       DT           Alabama

Cordy Glenn                          OT           Georgia

Jaye Howard                         DT           Florida

Josh Harris                             SN           Auburn

Casey Hayward                     CB           Vanderbilt

Melvin Ingram                      DE           South Carolina

Ben Jones                              C              Georgia

Marquis Maze                       WR/RS    Alabama

DeQuan Menzie                   CB           Alabama

Brandon Mosley                   OL           Auburn

Deangelo Peterson              TE            LSU

Chris Rainey                          RB           Florida

Brandon Taylor                     SAF         LSU

Courtney Upshaw                LB            Alabama



[Last modified: Friday, January 13, 2012 3:56pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours