Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tebow a finalist for Walter Camp Award



Another day, another mention of Tim Tebow for postseason honors.

The junior quarterback is one of 15 players named as “Players to
Watch” for the 2008 Walter Camp Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest individual college football award in the nation.

Last season, Tebow was selected as an All-American by the Walter Camp
Football Foundation.

A list of five finalists will be announced on Dec. 2. The 2008
Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the
Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Dec. 11, during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN's SportsCenter.

Here is a full list of the finalists:

Sam Bradford, Sophomore, QB, Oklahoma
Donald Brown, Junior, RB, Connecticut
Michael Crabtree, Sophomore, WR, Texas Tech
Chase Daniel, Senior, QB, Missouri
Jarrett Dillard, Senior, WR, Rice
Graham Harrell, Senior, QB, Texas Tech
Jerry Hughes, Junior, DL, TCU
James Laurinaitis, Senior, LB, Ohio State
Jeremy Maclin, Sophomore, WR/KR, Missouri
Rey Maualuga, Senior, LB, USC
Aaron Maybin, Sophomore, DL, Penn State
Colt McCoy, Junior, QB, Texas
Scott McKillop, Senior, LB, Pittsburgh
Javon Ringer, Senior, RB, Michigan State
Tim Tebow, Junior, QB, Florida

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:41pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours