Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tebow named to Manning Watch List



GAINESVILLE - Sophomore quarterback Tim Tebow on Wednesday was among 35 players named to the Manning Award Watch List, an award created to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.

Tebow is among seven quarterbacks from the SEC who were selected to the list. The others are: Erik Ainge (Tennessee), Brandon Cox (Auburn), Matt Flynn (LSU), Blake Mitchell (South Carolina), Matthew Stafford (Georgia) and Andre Woodson (Kentucky).

The winner will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. Finalists for the award will be announced prior to the beginning of the
bowl season, and a winner will be chosen following the bowls.

USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006 and LSU’s JaMarcus Russell last season. All three players went on to become first round draft picks
in the NFL.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:18pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours