Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tebow wins Manning Award



Tim Tebow is adding to his trophy collection.

The Florida quarterback on Thursday was named the 2009 Manning Award winner. The award was created by the Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.

It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

"I'd like to thank the Manning's for everything they've done, not just this award, but what they do for football in general and the platform that they give,'' Tebow said. ". . .I want to thank them for selecting me as the recipient. To win it behind some of the guys that have won is very special and it really means a lot.''

Past winners include Matt Leinart (USC), Vince Young (Texas), JaMarcus Russell (LSU) and Matt Ryan (Boston College).

The award is voted on by a panel of local and national media, as
well as each of the Mannings.

"We feel Tim is certainly a worthy recipient and an outstanding winner for us,'' Archie Manning said during a teleconference Thursday afternoon. "But I might add, I think it was one of the greatest years I've ever seen in college football, the quarterback class of 2008, as evidenced by the fact there will be high picks in the draft, Heisman Trophy winners, and very productive players throughout the country. We are just very proud to add Tim to this list.''

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:46pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours