Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tebow wins second Maxwell Award



Florida junior quarterback Tim Tebow won the Maxwell Award for the nation’s best all-around college football player Thursday night, which was presented at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards.

It was Tebow's second consecutive year earning the award. He becomes just the second player in the history of the award to win it twice – Notre Dame’s Johnny Lattner won it in 1952 and 1953.

Also on Thursday, running backs Chris Rainey and Jeff Demps and defensive backs Janoris Jenkins and Will Hill were named to the coaches SEC All-Freshman team.

UF coach Urban Meyer is also one of nine finalists for the prestigious Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:43pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours