Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Three Gator lacrosse players named to pretigious watch list



Florida lacrosse players Ashley Bruns, Kitty Cullen and Brittany Dashiell have been named to the 2012 Tewaaraton Watch List - a group of 53 players who will be under consideration for college lacrosse's highest individual honor.

This marks the first time in school history that more than one Gator is named to the Tewaaraton Watch List. Florida is one of six schools to have three or more players on the watch list. Maryland leads the nation with four players, and Duke, Loyola, North Carolina and Virginia each have three.

Cullen was Florida's first-ever nominee last season, then the youngest of five finalists. Northwestern's Shannon Smith won the 11th-annual Tewaaraton Award last season, marking the fifth time in six years a Northwestern player won the award.

Florida assistant coach Caitlyn McFadden won the award in 2010 as a senior at Maryland.

The Gators will host Siena on Friday, at 6:30 p.m.

[Last modified: Tuesday, February 21, 2012 4:57pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours