Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tim Tebow among 10 finalists for Johnny Unitas Award



Florida quarterback Tim Tebow is among 10 finalists selected on Friday for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to the nation’s top senior college quarterback by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc.

Joining Tebow as finalists are: Jarrett Brown, West Virginia, Daryll Clark, Penn State, Max Hall, BYU, Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan, Thaddeus Lewis, Duke, Colt McCoy, Texas, Tony Pike, Cincinnati, Todd Reesing, Kansas and Zac Robinson, Oklahoma State.

The 2009 winner will be announced on Dec. 11. Last year's winner was Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell.

Other past winners include: Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007), Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006), Matt Leinart (USC, 2005), Jason White (University of Oklahoma, 2004), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), David Carr (Fresno State, 2001), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Chris Redman (Louisville, 1999), Cade McNown (UCLA, 1998), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska, 1995), Jay Barker (Alabama, 1994), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Gino Torretta (Miami, FL, 1992), Casey Weldon (Florida State, 1991), Craig Erickson (Miami, FL, 1990), Tony Rice (Notre Dame, 1989), Rodney Peete (USC, 1988), and Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987).

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:23pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours