Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tim Tebow among five finalists for Heisman Trophy



Tebowaction Florida quarterback Tim Tebow is among the five finalists invited to New York for the Heisman Trophy Award ceremony this Saturday night.

The finalists also include Stanford RB Toby Gerhart, Alabama RB Mark Ingram, Texas QB Colt McCoy and Nebraska DT Ndamukong Suh.

Tebow was the 2007 Heisman Trophy winner.  He is the first player to be invited to the televised announcement three times, a practice that began in 1982.

“Having the chance to go back to New York means a lot to me,” Tebow said. “It is a special honor but it wouldn’t be possible for me to have this opportunity without my teammates and coaches.”

The winner will be announced at the Nokia Theatre in New York's Times Square, Saturday, Dec. 12. Tebow is also a finalist for the Maxwell Award and Davey O’Brien Award that will be awarded Thursday night on ESPN.

“It's a tremendous honor for Tim to be invited back to the Heisman Trophy presentation in New York City,” head coach Urban Meyer said. “This is a great achievement and he is very deserving of this honor. Tim is a special player whose leadership and character are unparalleled.”

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:31pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours