Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tim Tebow, Brandon Spikes semifinalists for national awards



Florida QB Tim Tebow and senior LB Brandon Spikes are among the 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award and Chuck Bednarik Award respectively.

The Maxwell Award is given to the nation's College Player of the Year, while the Bednarik is awarded to the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.

Tebow is vying for his third consecutive Maxwell Award. He won in both 2007 and 2008.

The winners will be announced during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 10. 

Semifinalists for the 73rd Maxwell Award:2

Jahvid Best, RB, California; Jimmy Clausen, QB, Notre Dame; Noel Devine, RB, West Virginia; Toby Gerhart,RB, Stanford; Mark Ingram, RB, Alabama; Case Keenum, QB, Houston; Dan LeFevour, QB, Central Michigan; Dion Lewis, RB, Pittsburgh; Ryan Matthews, RB, Fresno State; Colt McCoy,QB, Texas; Kellen Moore, QB, Boise State; Christian Ponder, QB; Florida Staate; Jacquizz Rogers, RB, Oregon State; Jordan Shipley, WR, Texas; Tate Golden, WR, Notre Dame;  Tim Tebow, QB, Florida.

Semifinalists for the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award

Pat Angerer, LB, Iowa; Eric Berry, DB, Tennessee; Navorro Bowman, LB, Penn State; Terrence Cody, DL, Alabama; Rennie Curran, LB, Georgia; Jerry Hughes, DB, TCU; Greg Jones, LB, Michigan State; Taylor Mays, DB, Southern Cal; Rolando McClain, LB, Alabama; Gerald McCoy, DL Oklahoma; Von Miller, DL, Texas A&M; Eric Norwood, LB, South Carolina; Brian Price, DL, UCLA; O'Brien Schofield, DB, Wisconsin; Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida; Ndamukong, DB, Nebraska.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:26pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours