Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tim Tebow a finalist for national scholar-athlete award



Timmug  Florida quarterback Tim Tebow is among 16 finalists announced today for the William V. Campbell Trophy, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame's Scholar Athlete Award.

The finalists were narrowed from a field of 154 semifinalists.

The NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program began in 1959 and was the first to award scholar-athletes post graduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership abilities. Former winners include former Tampa Bay Bucs star Derrick Brooks (Florida State); actor Mark Harmon (UCLA); NASA astronaut Leland Melvin (Richmond); former Dateline NBC anchor Stone Phillips (Yale); famed NFL quarterback Steve Young (BYU); and Heisman Trophy winners Terry Baker (Oregon State), Gary Beban (UCLA), Doug Flutie (Boston College) and Danny Wuerffel (Florida).

This year's semifinalists are:

OG JON ASAMOAH, Illinois, 3.82; LB MATT BAUMAN, BYU,  3.91; WR ERIC DECKER, Minnesota, 3.42; S MOSES HARRIS, Fresno State, 3.56; QB TIM HILLER, Western Michigan,  4.00; DT PAUL JASINOWSKI, Brown, 3.70; WR BEAU KILDOW, Morningside College (Iowa), 4.00; LB JOSH MAHONEY, Northern Iowa, 4.00; QB COLT McCOY, Texas, 3.33; TE JARRELL NeSMITH, Tusculum College (Tenn.), 3.84; LB JOE PAWELEK, Baylor, 3.71; QB TODD REESING, Kansas, 3.64; WR ZaVIOUS ROBBINS, Hardin- Simmons University (Texas), 3.90; QB TIM TEBOW, Florida,  3.66; OT BLAINE WESTEMEYER, Augustana College (Ill.), 3.93; LB REED WILLIAMS, West Virginia, 3.86.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 8.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:25pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours