Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tim Tebow named to Manning Award Watch List



The preseason award lists keeps growing for Florida quarterback Tim Tebow.

On Monday he was one of 38 quarterbacks named the Manning Award Watch List, created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

Tebow will attempt to become the first repeat winner; he won the award last season. He is joined by Oklahoma's Sam Bradford to give the award two Heisman Trophy winners on the Watch List.

Each of the 11 FBS conferences is represented on the Watch List with at least two candidates while the Big 12 leads the way with seven Watch List selections. In addition, Appalachian State's Armanti Edwards becomes the first player from an FCS school to be recognized on the preseason Manning list.

The first four winners of the Manning Award are now all in the NFL: USC's Matt Leinart, Texas' Vince Young, LSU's JaMarcus Russell and Matt Ryan of Boston College in 2008.

Here is the full 2009 Manning Award Watch List.

Austen Arnaud ( Iowa State)
Sam Bradford (Oklahoma)
Levi Brown (Troy)
Darryll Clark (Penn State)
Jimmy Clausen ( Notre Dame)
Andy Dalton (TCU)
Austin Davis (Southern Miss)
Armanti Edwards (Appalachian State)
Robert Griffin III (Baylor)
Matt Grothe (USF)
Max Hall (BYU)
Tim Hiller (Western Michigan)
Jerrod Johnson (Texas A&M)
Colin Kaepernick (Nevada)
Case Keenum (Houston)
Dan LeFevour (Central Michigan)
Corey Leonard (Arkansas State)
Thaddeus Lewis (Duke)
Ryan Lindley (San Diego State)
Jake Locker (Washington)
Jeremiah Masoli (Oregon)
Colt McCoy (Texas)
Kellen Moore (Boise State)
Tony Pike (Cincinnati)
Terrelle Prior (Ohio State)
Todd Reesing (Kansas)
Zac Robinson (Oklahoma State)
Tyler Sheehan (Bowling Green)
Riley Skinner (Wake Forest)
Rusty Smith (Florida Atlantic)
Jevan Snead (Ole Miss)
Ricky Stanzi (Iowa)
Tim Tebow (Florida)
Trevor Vittatoe (UTEP)
Adam Weber (Minnesota)
Juice Williams (Illinois)
Russell Wilson (N.C. State)
T.J. Yates (North Carolina)

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:11pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours