Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tim Tebow, Tampa's Javier Arenas, candidates for Lowe's Senior CLASS award



Tim Tebow is among 30 candidates for the Lowe's Senior CLASS award, announced Wednesday afternoon.

The acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award focuses on students who use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior in the Football Bowl Subdivision and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition.

Also among the candidates is Tampa native Javier Arenas, one of Alabama's top cornerbacks and return specialists.

The full list of the candidates:

Mike Anello, Notre Dame
Javier Arenas, Alabama
Zane Beadle, Utah
Richie Brockel, Boise State
Antonio Coleman, Auburn
Eric Decker, Minnesota
Auston English, Oklahoma
Kurtis Gregory, Missouri
Nnamdi Gwacham, Utah State
Moses Harris, Fresno State
Tim Hiller, Western Michigan
Jerry Hughes, TCU
Jammie Kirlew, Indiana
Sean Lee, Penn State
Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan
Andrew Lewis, Oklahoma State
Trevard Lindley, Kentucky
Taylor Mays. Southern California
Colt McCoy, Texas
Zoltan Mesko, Michigan
Mike Nixon, Arizona State
Eric Norwood, South Carolina
Joe Pawelek, Baylor University
George Selvie, South Florida
Andrew Sendejo, Rice University
Darrell Stuckey, Kansas
Tim Tebow, Florida
Syd'Quan Thompson, California Berkeley
Reed Williams, West Virginia
Ryan Wolfe, Nevada-Las Vegas

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:14pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours