Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Tim Tebow wins prestigious Campbell Award as nation's top scholar-athlete



Senior quarterback Tim Tebow won the William V. Campbell Trophy on Tuesday night, an award which honors the nation's top scholar-athlete as has been referred to as the "Academic Heisman.''

The award (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy) includes a 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 postgraduate scholarship. A total of $300,000 was awarded to Tebow and the other 15 Campbell Trophy finalists, who each claimed $18,000 scholarships for their post-graduate education.

The award was presented in New York Tuesday night.

Tebow joins former defensive tackle Brad Culpepper (1991) and Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel (1996) as Gator winners of the award, which recognizes a student-athlete for combined academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership. Florida now has the most recipients in the 20-year existence of the award.

“This award means so much because it's not just how you play on the field, it's not just what you do in the classroom, but it's what you do as a leader and someone who is going to serve your community,” Tebow
said. “That's what's most important about this award, because all these guys are great players and they're extremely intelligent, but more importantly, they're good people. They help their community and they
make a difference in this world.”

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 1:31pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours