Make us your home page

Wilber in the Hall

  Linebacker Wilber Marshall, one of the best defensive players in the Gators' storied history, was one of the 13 Division I-A players who will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.
   Marshall (1980-83) was a two-time consensus all-America and finished his career with 343 tackles, including 23 sacks and 58 tackles for a loss, both school records. He was a member of the first UF senior class to play in four bowl games.
   The former first-round draft pick of Chicago and three-time NFL All-Bowl selection will join fellow Gator players in the Hall, end Dale Van Sickel (1927-29), quarterback Steve Spurrier (1964-66), defensive end Jack Youngblood (1968-70), and running back Emmitt Smith (1987-90) as well as coaches Charlie Bachman, Ray Graves and Doug Dickey.
   The class, which also included Florida State nose guard Ron Simmons, will be inducted on Dec. 9 in New York and then enshrined in the summer of 2009 in South Bend, Ind. Here's the full list:
Troy Aikman, quarterback, UCLA (1987-88)
Billy Cannon, running back, LSU (1957-59)
Jim Dombrowski, offensive tackle, Virginia (1982-85)
Pat Fitzgerald, linebacker, Northwestern (1994-96)
Wilber Marshall, linebacker, Flordia (1980-83)
Rueben Mayes, running back, Washington State (1982-85)
Randall McDaniel, offensive guard, Arizona State (1984-87)
Don McPherson, quarterback, Syracuse (1984-87)
Jay Novacek, tight end, Wyoming (1982-84)
Dave Parks, receiver, Texas Tech (1961-63)
Ron Simmons, nose guard, Florida State (1977-80)
Thurman Thomas, running back, Oklahoma State (1984-87)
Arnold Tucker, quarterback, Army (1944-46)

John Cooper
Lou Holtz

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:25pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours