Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Wilber Marshall to be inducted into the ring of honor



GAINESVILLE - Wilber Marshall, a two-time concensus All-American linebacker, will be inducted into Florida's football ring of honor, the school announced Wednesday.

The 1983 Defensive Player of the Year will join inaugural members Emmitt Smith, Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel and Jack Youngblood, who were inducted last season.

Marshall, who played linebacker for the Gators from 1980-83, will be honored prior to the Florida-Auburn game on Sept. 29. His name will be unveiled and displayed in the North Endzone of Ben Hill Griffin Stadium on a display which will be approximately 18-feet wide and 5-feet high.

Marshall, originally from Titusville, Fla., was a consensus first-team All-American in 1982 and 1983 and also earned Honorable Mention All-America honors in 1981. ABC Television selected him as the National
Defensive Player of the Year in 1983 and he was a finalist for the Lombardi Award in both his junior and senior seasons.

Marshall was a first-round draft pick by the Chicago Bears in 1984 and had a 12-year career in the NFL. He was a three-time All-Pro selection (1986, '87 and '92) and also earned a pair of Super Bowl rings
with Chicago and Washington.

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 26, 2010 12:18pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours