Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Five Florida Gators among all-SEC honorees



Five Gators were honored Tuesday the SEC's coaches as all-conference players.

DB Vernon Hargreaves III (Wharton High), DB Jalen Tabor and DL Jon Bullard were all first-team selections. P Johnny Townsend and LB Antonio Morrison were both second-team choices.

Hargreaves and Tabor tied for Florida's lead with four interceptions, while Bullard was a dominant force on the defensive line and drew rave reviews from coach Jim McElwain for his toughness.

A few other notes from today:

Morrison accepted an invitation to the Senior Bowl. Despite coming off of a serious knee injury, Morrison led UF with 97 tackles (12 for a loss).

USA Today announced its All-America teams. Gators S Marcus Maye was the state's only first-team pick. Three Florida State players were second-team honorees: DB Jalen Ramsey, OT Roderick Johnson and K Roberto Aguayo.

The Citrus Bowl announced that it has already sold out for the UF-Michigan matchup. The only quicker sellout in the bowl game's history was for the 2008 game...also between the Gators and Wolverines.

Finally, UCF squeaked by Kansas to "win" ESPN's honor as the worst team in college football. 

[Last modified: Tuesday, December 8, 2015 3:22pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours