Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Florida Gators' Jim McElwain named SEC coach of the year



Florida coach Jim McElwain has been named the SEC's coach of the year, the league announced Wednesday afternoon.

McElwain earned the honor in a vote by his conference peers.

The Montana native took over the Gators last December. UF was picked to finish fifth in the SEC East after back-to-back mediocre seasons but quickly surpassed expectations. The Gators' 10-3 season included a division title, a win over rival Georgia and a 28-point win over then-No. 3 Ole Miss.

UF lost to Alabama in last week's SEC title game and plays Michigan on Jan. 1 in the Citrus Bowl.

The previous Gators who earned SEC coach of the year honors: 

1960-Ray Graves
1980-Charley Pell
1984-Galen Hall
1990-Steve Spurrier 
1991-Steve Spurrier
1994-Steve Spurrier
1995-Steve Spurrier
1996-Steve Spurrier
2012-Will Muschamp

[Last modified: Wednesday, December 9, 2015 3:11pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours