Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Former Gator WR Wes Chandler a College Football Hall of Fame nominee



Former Florida WR Wes Chandler is among 75 players nominated for the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame.

Chandler was a First Team All America selection in 1977, finishing 10th in Heisman Trophy balloting. He was a two-time First Team All-SEC performer. He was a Gator captain in 1977, and led the team in receiving three consecutive seasons.

Also among the nominees is former Miami All-American and Tampa Bay Bucs Hall of Famer Warren Sapp.

The 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be announced in Mayand members will be inducted at the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 9, 2014.

The inductees will be permanently enshrined in the new College Football Hall of Fame at a date to be determined in 2015. The new Hall, currently under construction, will open in Atlanta in time for the 2014 college football season.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football.

Former Gator Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel was inducted last season.

To be inducted is highly prestigious. Of the 4.99 million individuals who have played college football since Princeton first battled Rutgers on Nov. 6, 1869, only 934 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, or less than two ten-thousandths (.0002) of one percent of those who have played the game during the past 145 years.

Here is the full list of players and coaches who are nominated this year.

[Last modified: Thursday, March 6, 2014 4:20pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours