Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Gator swimmer Elizabeth Beisel earns SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year



Florida swimmer Elizabeth Beisel has been named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, becoming only the second female swimmer from Florida to win the award.

Also garnering top SEC honors is Gregg Troy, who was voted Men's Swimming Coach of the Year. Florida freshman Natalie Hinds was named SEC Female Freshman of the Year.

Beisel is a two-time CSCAA Division I Scholar All-American and a two-time SEC Honor Roll recipient. Beisel was also named to the 2012 Capital One Academic All-America Women's At-Large First-Team and is the 2012 NCAA Champion in the 200 backstroke.

In addition to being named Scholar-Athlete of the Year, she was the high point award winner for the SEC Women's Championship. She earned 92 points during the five-day SEC meet to claim the Commissioner's Trophy. She is the second female swimmer in UF history to earn the Commissioner's Trophy twice, with Gemma Spofforth earning it in 2009 and 2010. Beisel won the 200 back (1:50.40) and 400 IM (3:59.53) for the third consecutive year and finished second in the 200 IM (1:54.59).

Hinds is just the third swimmer in Florida history to earn Freshman of the Year, joining Beisel and Caroline Burckle. She won her first SEC title after finishing in the nation's top time in the 100 fly (51.70).

Beisel joins Vipa Bernhardt, who won the Scholar Athlete of the Year Award in 2005 and 2006.

[Last modified: Friday, March 1, 2013 10:08am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours