Make us your home page

Sunshine State Report

The latest on college sports in Florida

Gators baseball coach Kevin O'Sullivan named SEC Coach of the Year

Florida coach Kevin O’Sullivan on Tuesday was selected as the SEC Coach of the Year, and right-hander Logan Shore was named the SEC Freshman of the Year, in a vote of the league’s 14 head baseball coaches. 

O’Sullivan earned the award for the second time in his Florida tenure, having also won in 2010. The Gators were picked third in the Eastern Division in the preseason poll, but eventually on their third SEC title in the past five seasons with a 21-9 league record.

UF claimed a school-record 12 league wins in a row from April 12-May 9. O’Sullivan is the fourth coach from Florida to earn the award multiple times, joining Dave Fuller (1952-56-62), Jack Rhine (1982-83) and Joe Arnold (1984-88).

Gators junior catcher Taylor Gushue and Shore were chosen first-team All-SEC, sophomore outfielder Harrison Bader was named second-team All-SEC and first baseman Peter Alonso, Shore and third baseman John Sternagel collected All-Freshman Team recognition.
Shore is the Gators’ third SEC Freshman of the Year under O’Sullivan, along with Preston Tucker (2009) and Austin Maddox (2010).

The complete 2014 All-SEC Team follows:

SEC Player of the Year – A.J. Reed, Kentucky

SEC Pitcher of the Year – Aaron Nola, LSU

SEC Freshman of the Year – Logan Shore, FLORIDA

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Seth Heck, Mississippi State

SEC Coach of the Year – Kevin O’Sullivan, FLORIDA


First Team                            

1B – Sikes Orvis, Ole Miss

2B – Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt       

3B – Austin Anderson, Ole Miss

SS – Vince Conde, Vanderbilt

C – Taylor Gushue, FLORIDA  

OF – Auston Bousfield, Ole Miss

OF – Ka'ai Tom, Kentucky        

OF – Christin Stewart, Tennessee

DH/UTL– A.J. Reed, Kentucky

P – Aaron Nola, LSU

P – Logan Shore, FLORIDA                      

RP – Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State  


Second Team                      

1B – Eric Fisher, Arkansas

2B – Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

3B – Max Kuhn, Kentucky

SS – Alex Bregman, LSU

C – Will Allen, Ole Miss

OF – Ben Moore, Alabama

OF – Harrison Bader, FLORIDA

OF – Nick Banks, Texas A&M

DH/UTL – Wade Wass, Alabama 

P – Ross Mitchell, Mississippi State

P – Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

RP – Joel Seddon, South Carolina


All-Freshman Team         

1B – Peter Alonso, FLORIDA       

2B – JaVon Shelby, Kentucky

3B – John Sternagel, FLORIDA

SS – Errol Robinson, Ole Miss

C – Gavin Collins, Mississippi State 

OF – Nick Banks, Texas A&M             

OF – Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt

OF – Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas

DH/UTL – Nick Senzel, Tennessee       

P – Logan Shore, FLORIDA         

P – Keegan Thompson, Auburn

RP – Thomas Burrows, Alabama


All-Defensive Team                           

P – Aaron Nola, LSU; Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

1B – Eric Fisher, Arkansas     

2B – Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

SS – Seth Heck, Mississippi State

3B – Joey Pankake, South Carolina 

C – Jake Wise, Arkansas; Grayson Greiner, South Carolina    

OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky          

OF – Tanner English, South Carolina   

OF – Andrew Stevenson, LSU


[Last modified: Tuesday, May 27, 2014 5:04pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours