Pinellas School Board hopefuls now up to 14

Published June 4 2018

With Pinellas County School Board member Terry Krassner filing her reelection paperwork today, 14 candidates now vie for four seats in August's countywide school board election.

First elected in 2010, Krassner will seek her third term in the district where she grew up, graduated and taught students herself.

"Safety is, of course, No. 1," she said of her priorities for the next four years. "Just making sure that, in every school, we've implemented as much as we possibly can."

A veteran teacher and principal, she said she wants to make sure educators have everything they need to be successful, including a competitive salary, so the district can bring in top talent.

"I really want our educators to know how valued they are," she said. "It's like fighting the good fight."

Krassner and the other hopefuls seek four-year terms in the August 28 election.

In terms of campaign cash, District 2 candidate Jeff Larsen, a middle school teacher, stands at the top of the pack in his race with $16,400, according to the county elections website. The next-closest candidate is David H. Schneck, a longtime teacher and volleyball coach, with $2,000.

In District 3, educational specialist Nicole Carr dwarfs the competition with $40,240, followed by Carl "Z" Zimmermann with $10,000. Carr has also spent the most of all the candidates so far, with $5,750 in expenditures.

Campaign cash remains fairly modest in District 6, and in District 7, board chairwoman René Flowers leads with $9,540.

Here's the full list so far:

District 2, at large:
Lisa Nicole Cane
Terry Benjamin Krassner (current member)
Jeff Larsen
David H. Schneck
Emmanuel Swift

District 3, at large:
Nicole Carr
Peggy O'Shea (current vice chairwoman)
Carl "Z" Zimmermann

District 6, single member:
Lorena Grizzle
Matt Stewart

District 7, single member:
René Flowers (current chairwoman)
Bilian Joseph
Shyla Sams
Nicholas Wright