Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

10 additional Florida education commissioner candidates met Friday deadline



Outgoing Indiana superintendent of public instruction Tony Bennett was one of 10 candidates to meet Friday's deadline to apply for the Florida education commissioner. He also was the most high profile hopeful, and the only well-known reformer, to enter the field. As we reported earlier, interim commissioner Pam Stewart did not apply. Others applying Friday were:

  • Sheldon Klasfeld, Principal, Academic Alternative Education, Inc., a private school
  • Marilyn Simmons, President, The Tech Center, LLC/Computer Nuts, Inc.
  • Tony Bennett, Superintendent of Public Instruction, State of Indiana
  • Christine Jax, Associate Dean of Doctoral Programs, Walden University
  • Marvin Jeter, III, Consultant, Self-Employed, former Tulsa, Okla., school administrator
  • Edwin Martinez Del Rio, Associate Campus Dean,  Strayer University
  • Scott Whittle, Instructional Technology Expert, Leon County Schools
  • Patrick Galatowitsch, Principal, Fern Creek Elementary, Orange County FL
  • Charles Hokanson, Jr., President and CEO, Hokanson Consulting Group LLC, a former official in the G.W. Bush education department and president of the Alliance for School Choice
  • Randy Dunn, President, Murray State University, former State Superintendent of Education in Illinois

The Ray and Associates search firm is supposed to recommend finalists later this week. The State Board of Education is scheduled to conduct interviews at its Dec. 11 meeting in Tampa. Read on for other applicants.

The previous candidates are:

  • Jonathan Eugene Wilson, Teacher, Gadsden County
  • Lowell Erwin Levine – Real Estate Broker, Palm Beach Gardens, FL
  • Joseph Kennedy Vaughn – Supervisor of Testing and Child Nutrition, Jackson County Board of Education, Alabama
  • Mary Elizabeth Lenda – Former Director/Principal of Beacon Light Alternative Education Program for the Warrant County PA School District, Pennsylvania
  • Timothy Davis, currently ESA/ESOL Teacher, Dekalb County School District, Lithonia Georgia
  • Benita Ashford, Principal, Dallas ISD
  • Milton Johns, Chairman at Large, Prince William County School Board, Virginia
  • Harold Ranard – CEO/Senior Consultant, Green Mountain Educational Services, Williamsburg, Virginia
  • Dr. Kennth Sorrick, Superintendent, North Palos School District, Illinois
  • Gary McCulloch, Principal, Kent County Middle School, MD
  • Robert Miller, Principal, St. Charles East High School, Illinois
  • Derrick Daniel, Turn Around Principal, Baltimore City Public Schools, Maryland
  • Joel Anderson, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Warren County Vocational School, Ohio
  • Robert Lucket, Superintendent, School District of South Milwaukee, Wisconsin (withdrew application)
  • Barbara Casey, Associate Superintendent, Las Vegas City School District, New Mexico
  • Mathew Stiehm, School of Criminal Justice, ITT Technical Institute-Minneapolis Campus, Minnesota
  • Dion Emile Betts, Superintendent, Boyertown Area School District, Pennsylvania
  • Dane Lee Linn, Executive Director, State Policy, The College Board (withdrew application)
  • Arthur Wayne Stellar, Burke County Schools, Morganton, NC, Superintendent
  • Richard Andrew Tuck, Production Manager/Consultant, C.Elton Crews Inc., Avon Park
  • Bessie V. Karvelas, Acting Deputy Chief Instructional Officer, Chicago Public Schools
  • Matilda Fullerton, Country Wide Manager – education, Al Khaleej Corp. Saudi Arabia
  • Daniel M. Wentland, Chair Business Administration, Holmes Community College, Ridgeland, MS
  • Jeffrey Scott Gordon, Assistant Superintendent for Personnel, Fayetteville-Manlius Central Schools
  • David N. Gentile, Superintendent of Schools, Millville Board of Education
  • Stanley Spence Wooden, Educator, Dallas ISD
  • Judge Richardson Roach, School Board Member, Orange County, FL
  • Robert-Wayne Harris, Superintendent of Schools, Roosevelt UFSD
  • Matthew Alexander, Jr., Asst. Professor and Coor. Of Field/Clinical Experiences, Savannah State University
  • Latanya Collins, Principal, Cariculum Academy of Rosedale
  • Staci Ann Gillen, Instructional Staff Developer – Math, Boca Ciega High
  • Ann Ellen Lewis, Principal, Pencader Charter Business and Finance High School, New Castle, DE
  • Albert Edward Thompson, Professional Development Associate, Leadership and Learning Center, Englewood, CO
  • Brenda Lee Rockward, Business Mgmt. Technology Program Director, Southern Career College/Dade Medical
  • Kellie Marie Manning, Principal, Sheboygan Falls School District, Wisconsin
  • Robert W. Murray, District Coor. Of Migrant Education, Collier County Schools
  • Luis Baldemar Gonzalez, CEO/Superintendent, Central Dauphin SD
  • Jerry Tsekas, Administrator/Chairperson, Committee on Preschool Education NY City Department of Education
  • Daniel Lee Stiffler, Superintendent, Buhler USD, KS
  • William Howell Forrester, Senior VP, Science and Engineering Service (withdrew and then resubmitted)
  • James Julius Alexander, Sales and Project Coordinator, Weber Glass, Inc.
  • Wesley Teixeira-Alves, Chaplain, US Army
  • Agnolia Beatrice Gay, Speech and Drama Teacher, Little Rock School District
  • Steven Black, Adjunct Professor, State College of Florida
  • Larry Yang, Computer Scientist, Department of Defense
  • Mark J. Ornstein, Esquire, currently with the Delaware County Intermediate Unit
  • Ebbie Parsons, III, Blackboard Solutions
  • Teresa Rio, Department of Emergency Management
  • Jordan Rosenberg, Hebrew Academy
  • Philip Samuel, Maharashtra, India
  • Michelle Crumpton-Harvey, Algiers Charter Schools Association
  • Robert Burnside, Principal of Alternative HS and AP for Middle School, Amityville NY
  • Thomas P. Jandris, Concordia University, Chicago. Jandris was a finalist for the job in 2011.
  • Ana Rivas Logan, Member of House of Representatives (Dade County)

[Last modified: Monday, December 3, 2012 3:20pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours