Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

And the Senate leaders are...




Senate committee appointments are now posted on the Florida Senate Web site. Here's what your education leadership team will be.

Committee on Education Pre-K-12: Nancy Detert, R-Venice, chair, and Frederica Wilson, D-Miami, vice chair. Other members are Larcenia Bullard, Lee Constantine, Don Gaetz, Eleanor Sobel, Ronda Storms and Stephen Wise.

Committee on Education Appropriations Pre-K-12: Stephen Wise, R-Jacksonville, chair, and Gary Siplin, D-Orlando, vice chair. Other members are Larcenia Bullard, Nancy Detert, Rudy Garcia and Garrett Richter.

Committee on Higher Education
: Steve Oelrich, R-Gainesville, chair, and Chris Smith, D-Fort Lauderdale, vice chair. Other members are Larcenia Bullard, Evelyn Lynn and Ken Pruitt.

Committee on Higher Education Appropriations
: Evelyn Lynn, R-Ormond Beach, chair, and Dan Gelber, D-Miami Beach, vice chair. Other members are Lee Constantine, Ted Deutch and Jim King.

The committees will get together next week to start talking business, and by that we mean mostly budget.

(Photos, courtesy of the Florida Senate, are L-R, Detert, Wise, Oelrich and Lynn)


[Last modified: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:06am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours