Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Familiar faces among new trustees at Florida state universities



The Florida State University System Board of Governors has named 21 new trustees to serve the state's 11 public universities.

Among them are some well-known names, including former state senator and House Speaker Daniel Webster (UCF), former Board of Governors chairwoman Carolyn Roberts (UF) and AT&T Florida president Marshall Criser, son of the former University of Florida president (UF).

For the University of South Florida, the governors selected Brian D. Lamb of Tampa, an executive with Fifth Third Bank, and Harold W. Mullis Jr. of Tampa, president of the law firm of Trenam, Kemker, Scharf, Barkin, Frye, O'Neill & Mullis, P.A.

Here is a complete list of new trustees.

University of Florida: Marshall M. Criser III of Coral Gables, president of ATT Florida; Carolyn King Roberts of Ocala, president of Roberts Real Estate Inc. Her Board of Governors term expires in January.

Florida State University: Mark Hillis of Winter Park, a retired executive with SunTrust Bank; Margaret A. Rolando of Coral Gables, a partner with the law firm of Shutts & Bowen LLP in Miami.

Florida A&M University: Marjorie Turnbull of Tallahassee, a consultant, a former member of the Florida House of Representatives and a former chairwoman of the Leon County Commission.  

University of South Florida: Brian D. Lamb of Tampa, an executive with Fifth Third Bank in Tampa; Harold W. Mullis Jr. of Tampa, president of the law firm of Trenam, Kemker, Scharf, Barkin, Frye, O'Neill & Mullis, P.A.

Florida International University: Michael M. Adler of Miami Beach, chairman and CEO of Adler Group Inc., a real-estate development firm; Joseph L. Caruncho of Palmetto Bay, chief executive officer of Preferred Care Partners.

Florida Atlantic University: Anthony K. Barbar of Boca Raton, president and CEO of Barbar & Associates LLC, a real-estate brokerage and advisory company (reappointment); David S. Feder of Boca Raton, managing director of the Fairmont Turnberry Isle Resort in Aventura (reappointment) 

University of Central Florida: Raymond Gilley of Orlando, president and CEO of the Metro Orlando Economic Development Commission; Daniel A. Webster of Orlando, owner and president of Webster Air Conditioning & Heating Inc., and a former member of the Florida House of Representatives, where he served as speaker, and a former member of the Florida Senate.

University of West Florida:
Stephen C. Riggs of Destin, a partner in the CPA firm of Carr, Riggs & Ingram; Bentina C. Terry of Pensacola, vice president for external affairs and corporate services at Gulf Power Co.

University of North Florida: A. Hugh Greene of Jacksonville, president and CEO of Baptist Health (reappointment); Oscar Munoz of Ponte Vedra Beach, executive vice president and chief financial officer of CSX Corp.

Florida Gulf Coast University: Ann H. Hamilton of Fort Myers, whose family was instrumental in the effort to bring the 10th state university, Florida Gulf Coast University, to Southwest Florida; Robbie B. Roepstorff of Sanibel Island, founder and president of Edison National Bank.

New College of Florida: William R. Johnston of Bradenton, a retired president of the New York Stock Exchange; Felice C. Schulaner of Siesta Key, a retired human resources executive with Coach Inc. and the chairwoman of the Major Gifts Committee of the New College Foundation.


[Last modified: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:39am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours