Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Finalists for Hillsborough educator awards named



TAMPA -- Lost in the holiday shuffle was some good news for 15 Hillsborough County educators. All are on the short list for the Hillsborough Education Foundation's annual recognition awards.

The winners of Teacher of the Year, Instructional Support Employee of the Year, and the Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year will be announced January 27 at an awards ceremony in the David A. Straz, Jr., Center for the Performing Arts.

Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year Finalists
Doncelyn C. Chaney – Blake High School
Charlene Crawford – LaVoy Exceptional Center
Cassandra E. Davis – Seffner Elementary School
Brian Greeno – Knights Elementary School
Wayne A. Shaw – Chiaramonte Elementary School

Instructional Support Employee of the Year Finalists
Ernestine J. Davis – Franklin Middle Magnet School
Marilyn Delgado – Lincoln Elementary Magnet School
Timothy W. Driggers – Transportation Department
Sandra M. Gallogly – Alonso High School
John Rose – Dorothy Thomas School

Teacher of the Year Finalists
Amanda Newman – Valrico Elementary School
Emily De Vizio – Edison Elementary School
Cynthia Folsom Crim – Palm River Elementary School
Desiree M. Daerr – Webb Middle School
Michael Boza – Plant High School

[Last modified: Monday, January 3, 2011 12:15pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours