Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Florida House rounds out its education committees



With its committee chairmen appointed earlier in the month, the Florida House leadership completed its committee assignments late last week. The Tampa Bay area might have lost some chairmanships and key voices through reassignments and election losses, but the area will continue to have representation in the state's education debate. Among the locals on the committees are Democrat Rick Kriseman and Republican Jeffrey Brandes of St. Petersburg, Democrat Betty Reed and Republicans James Grant and Rachel Burgin of Tampa, and Republican Richard Corcoran of New Port Richey.  

The members of the education committees and subcommittees are:

Education Committee -- William L. Proctor (R) Chair,  Marlene O'Toole (R) Vice Chair, Janet Adkins (R), Michael Bileca (R), Jeffrey Brandes (R), Oscar Braynon II (D), Dwight Bullard (D), Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed (D), Marti Coley (R), Daniel Davis (R), Erik Fresen (R), Reggie Fullwood (D), Clay Ingram (R), Betty Reed (D), Jimmie Smith (R), Cynthia Stafford (D), Kelli Stargel (R), John Tobia (R)

K-20 Competitiveness Subcommittee -- Erik Fresen (R) Chair, Janet Adkins (R) Vice Chair, Douglas Broxson (R), Dwight Bullard (D), Rachel Burgin (R), Charles Chestnut IV (D), Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed (D), Marti Coley (R), Richard Corcoran (R), Daniel Davis (R), Reggie Fullwood (D), Jeanette Nuñez (R), W. Keith Perry (R), Betty Reed (D), Carlos Trujillo (R)

K-20 Innovation Subcommittee -- Kelli Stargel (R) Chair, John Tobia (R)  Vice Chair, Leonard Bembry (D), Michael Bileca (R), Jeffrey Brandes (R), Eduardo Gonzalez (R), James Grant (R), Clay Ingram (R), Mia Jones (D), Marty Kiar (D), Rick Kriseman (D), Larry Metz (R), George Moraitis, Jr. (R), Kathleen Passidomo (R), Cynthia Stafford (D)

[Last modified: Monday, December 20, 2010 10:00am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours