Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Florida Senate education leadership remains stable




Unlike the Florida House, which changed over its education leaders, the Florida Senate will keep its committee chairmanships in familiar hands.

Sen. Steve Wise of Jacksonville, will head the Education and Pre-K-12 committee. Last year, he chaired the Pre-K-12 appropriations committee, which this session goes to newly elected Sen. David Simmons of Altamonte Springs. Simmons chaired key education committees while in the Florida House before his 2008 retirement because of term limits.

On the higher education front, Sen. Steve Oelrich of Gainesville will continue to chair the Higher Education Committee and Sen. Evelyn Lynn of Ormond Beach will remain the leader of the appropriations committee. 

[Last modified: Tuesday, November 16, 2010 6:30am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours