Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Gov. Crist names task force on teacher quality



As Florida school districts debate their participation in Race to the Top, Gov. Charlie Crist has appointed a statewide task force to tackle such sticky issues as teacher pay and performance.

The group is an offshoot of the committee that Crist convened to revise Florida's RTTT application, which failed in the first go-round because of a lack of teacher buy-in. Many of the members are the same, as are the issues. Those include merit pay and teacher evaluations.

"These committed Floridians understand that student achievement and teacher effectiveness are keys to strengthening Florida's talent pool of graduates entering our workforce," Crist said in a news release. "It’s vital that every teacher in our state has the resources they need to prepare our students for the future."

Miami-Dade superintendent Alberto Carvalho will chair the committee. Other members are:

• Dr. Eric Smith, Commissioner, Florida Department of Education
• W.C. Gentry, School Board Member, Duval County School Board
• Peg Smith, Superintendent, Volusia Public Schools
• Wally Cox, Superintendent, Highlands Public Schools
• Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent, Duval County Public Schools 
• Michael Varner, 2011 Escambia County Teacher of the Year, Pensacola State College
• Jean Lamar, 2009 Teacher of the Year, new teacher advisor, Nassau County Public Schools
• Emily Barbacci, 2010 Teacher of the Year Finalist, Chiles High School, Leon County Public Schools
• Megan Allen, 2010 Teacher of the Year, Cleveland Elementary School, Hillsborough County Public Schools
• Cynthia Phillips-Luster, 2009 Principal of the Year, James Stephens International Academy, Lee County Public Schools
• Andy Ford, President, Florida Education Association
• Terry Fasel, Dean, School of Education, Warner University
• Jennifer Platt, Associate Dean, University of Central Florida 
• Dr. Mark Rosenberg, President, Florida International University
• Joe Pickens, President, St. Johns River Community College
• Karin Brown, President, Florida Parent Teacher Association
• Debra Dowds, Executive Director, Florida Developmental Disabilities Council
• Marshall Criser III, President of AT&T Florida
• Senator Rudy Garcia 
• Representative Jimmy Patronis

[Last modified: Friday, September 10, 2010 5:47am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours