Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Hillsborough board names new principals as member Valdes chastises the superintendent




King High School principal Carla Bruning has left her high-profile position at the Temple Terrace-based high school to assume leadership of Newsome High School in southeast Hillsborough.
Bruning’s transfer was among more than a dozen such administrative moves that came before the Hillsborough County School District Tuesday.
The board also appointed several curriculum supervisors, with one of those decisions leading to a brief argument about procedure.
Member Susan Valdes accused Superintendent MaryEllen Elia of failing to provide adequate information, including an organizational chart, concerning the appointment of Carla Sparks as supervisor of single gender programs.
Elia said that sometimes board members do not read all of the information in they receive, particularly if it is embedded in long contracts.
“I do read all of my agenda items,” Valdes responded. “I need for you to take that back.”
Others on the board rushed to diffuse the argument, which took place as the new principals and their families were preparing to celebrate their appointments.
Member April Griffin asked for a workshop, to include the board attorney, to discuss the matter in greater detail.
Griffin’s motion passed 6-1 with member Jack Lamb dissenting.
Valdes voted against Sparks’ appointment, saying she had no qualms about her qualifications. “My vote on this matter is about process and procedures,” she said.
The other appointments, passed unanimously by the full board, included:
* Melanie Cleveland, supervisor of middle and secondary reading; Daniel McFarland, supervisor of secondary science; and Lisa Cobb, director of grants and research.
* Michelle Spagnuolo, principal of Lowry Elementary; Gaye Holt, principal of Clark Elementary; Ismael Lebron, Principal of Bing Elementary;
Denise Mobley, principal of Pinecrest Elementary; and Anthony Montoto, principal of Valrico Elementary.
The board also voted to approve these principal transfers:
* Larry Sykes, from Ferrell Middle Magnet to Lockhart Elementary; Kristin Tonelli, from Hunter’s Green Elementary to Lewis Elementary; Joseph Brown, from Walker Middle to Madison Middle; Gloria Waite, from Mabry Elementary to West Tampa Elementary; Melanie Palmeri Bottini, from Grady Elementary to Carrollwood Elementary.


[Last modified: Wednesday, July 13, 2011 1:27pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours