Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Hillsborough names its top teachers



The Hillsborough education foundation has named the finalists for its teacher of the year honors. They are:

Teacher of the Year Finalists

  • Crystal Dukes, Freedom High School
  • Ryan Kinser, Turkey Creek Middle
  • Emily Marrero, Philip Shore Elementary
  • Marcy Ringdahl, Alafia Elementary School
  • Holly Sinclair, Gorrie Elementary

Ida S. Baker Diversity Educator of the Year Finalists

  • Jene D. Bell, Chamberlain High School
  • Kimberly A. Duran, Foster Elementary
  • Japera Helene Hodges, Witter Elementary
  • Michael L. Oliver, Youth Services
  • Karen Willis-Barrett, Greco Middle School

Instructional Support Employee of the Year Finalists

  • Susan Marie Blackmon, Oak Park Elementary
  • Julie Harris, Broward Elementary
  • Suzie Morse, Chiles Elementary
  • Valerie L. Pearce, LaVoy Exceptional Center
  • Kelly Jean Zelaya, Stewart Middle Magnet

For more information about the Hillsborough Education Foundation's Excellence in Education initiative, visit

[Last modified: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:46am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours