Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Hillsborough work group continues to look at special ed



A work group in Hillsborough County returned from vacation this week and picked up their study of safety issues in exceptional student education.Point of clarification: The group does not include top administrators, as previously reported. Here is the true list, which was expanded in recent weeks to include three teachers:

  • MaryAnn Parks, ESE supervisor
  • Cristina Benito, ESE supervisor
  • Michael Levine, supervisor, FDLRS
  • Denise Provenzano, district resource teacher
  • Dr. Maria Russ, supervisor, School Health Services
  • John Franklin, general manager, Transportation
  • Christopher Farkas, area director, Area 8
  • Tanly Cabrera, director of administration
  • Joe Perez, manager, Non-instructional Professional Standards
  • Bob Wegmann, general manager, Maintenance
  • Jeff Eakins, general director, Federal Programs
  • Ken Otero, deputy superintendent
  • Kourtney Barnum, teacher, Maniscalco Elementary School
  • Sandra Morra, teacher, Hillsborough High School
  • Jaylene Suarez, teacher, Mendez ESE Center.

The committee is looking at everything from staff training to fence heights in the aftermath of two deaths this year of special-needs children. They'll also consult with the Council for the Great City Schools and the Superintendent's Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities.

[Last modified: Tuesday, November 27, 2012 8:53am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours