Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Janssen's Pinellas superintendency could be shortest in 39 years



If Julie Janssen's tenure as Pinellas County school superintendent comes to a close as expected this month, her three-year leadership term wouldn't have been the shortest in the district's history -- just the shortest in almost four decades.

Since 1972, Pinellas has experienced relatively stable leadership: Gus Sakkis served for nine years (1972-1981), Scott Rose for 10 (1981-1991) and Howard Hinesley for 13 (1991-2004).

When a national search landed Clayton Wilcox in 2004, that streak of stability came to an end as he announced four years later he'd taken a job with a textbook company. That was three years short of his Pinellas County contract term. (That's right: if Wilcox had stayed, his contract would have expired this year.)

Here's a list the school district sent us of all the public school superintendents in Pinellas County's history:

1.    Dixie M. Hollins, 1912-1920
2.    Robert S. Blanton, 1920-1928
3.    George M. Lynch, 1928-1935
4.    George M. Hoffman, 1935-1936
5.    Green V. Fuguitt, 1936-1948
6.    Floyd T. Christian, 1948-1965
7.    Paul D. Bauder, 1965-1966
8.    James F. Gollattscheck, 1966-1967
9.    Thomas B. Southard, 1967-1971
10. Nicholas G. Mangin, 1971-1972
11. Gus Sakkis, 1972-1981
12. Scott N. Rose, 1981-1991
13. J. Howard Hinesley, 1991-2004
14. Clayton M. Wilcox, 2004-2008
15. Julie M. Janssen, 2008-present

[Last modified: Monday, August 22, 2011 12:51pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours