Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

More principals are moved and promoted in Hillsborough



The Hillsborough County School Board on Tuesday named Nancy Mooy as principal of Tinker Elementary School, Lisa Maltezos as principal of Shaw Elementary School, and Julie Scardino as principal of Sulphur Springs Elementary School.

Cheryl Tyo is retiring from Tinker, which serves the MacDill Air Force Base. Shaw’s Holly Saia and Sulphur Springs' Christi Buell have been named principal coaches under the Wallace Foundation-funded Principal Pipeline program. As Maltezos was principal of  Claywell Elementary, that school now needs a principal, as does Edison, which is losing Scardino.
The board also approved four more appointments as principal coaches, creating that many additional principal vacancies.
Promoted into coaching positions are:
  • Oldalys Pritchard, Adams Middle School.
  • Shaylia McRae, Martinez
  • Sharon Morris, East Bay High School
  • Larry Sykes, Lockhart Elementary School

[Last modified: Tuesday, November 8, 2011 4:13pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours